Seminars & Webinars

MJ Insurance offers clients access to a variety of different seminars, webinars, and other opportunities to learn and grow. Check out the list of our upcoming seminars, webinars, and events below.

September - Compliance Webinar
+

Open Enrollment: Rules and Strategies for Employers

Wednesday, September 12, 2018
1:00 – 2:30 pm EST
Noon – 1:30 pm CST
11:00 – 12:30 pm MST
10:00 – 11:30 am PST

Open enrollment can be a stressful time for employers. Join our attorneys to learn more about rules for benefit plan enrollment, upcoming changes for plans in 2019 and providing information to employees to help your clients with all of their open enrollment questions.

REGISTER

September - Compliance Webinar 2
+

New Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA) Rules

THURSDAY, September 27, 2018
3:00 – 4:30 PM EST
2:00 – 3:30 PM CST
NOON – 1:30 PM PST

The Departments of Labor (DOL), Health and Human Services (HHS) and Treasury have released new information regarding the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA), including FAQs related to nonquantitative treatment limitations and guidance on new disclosure requirements. The DOL has also released a self-compliance tool. This webinar will review existing MHPAEA rules and discuss disclosure guidance and the clarifications from the FAQs.

REGISTER

October - Compliance Webinar
+
Into the Weeds – Again! Answers to Specific Employer Benefits Questions
Thursday, October 25, 2018
3:00 – 4:30 PM EST
2:00 – 3:30 PM CST
NOON – 1:30 PM PST

In the newest episode of this popular webinar we will review actual employee benefits compliance questions we have received and go over our answers in detail. We will discuss questions about ACA enforcement, the voluntary plan safe harbor, HSA eligibility, the tax treatment of discriminatory benefits, and more. Learn from real life compliance issues other employers have faced. Don’t worry, the names have been changed to protect the innocent!

*Registration information to come.

November - Compliance Webinar
+

Tobacco Related
Wellness Programs

Thursday, November 29, 2018
3:00 – 4:30 PM EST
2:00 – 3:30 PM CST
NOON – 1:30 PM PST

Tobacco and smoking-related programs are one of the most common wellness incentive arrangements offered by employers, but they must be done right. Employers often struggle with the required reasonable alternative method of earning the incentive that must be offered in some programs, and if any medical testing is done the EEOC wellness rules must be taken into consideration. Employers must also be prepared to deal with new developments, like e-cigarettes and medical marijuana.

*Registration information to come.

December - Compliance Webinar
+

2018 Regulatory Wrap-up and a Look Forward to 2019

Thursday, December 20, 2018
3:00 – 4:30 PM EST
2:00 – 3:30 PM CST
NOON – 1:30 PM PST

2018 was another interesting year for employers, with new regulations and activity in the courts having an impact on how employers manage benefit plans. 2018 also saw increased enforcement by the IRS of the ACA employer shared responsibility rules (the “employer mandate”). This webinar will review what actually happened (and didn’t happen) in 2018. We will also look forward into 2019 and discuss the possible developments that could affect employer plans.

*Registration information to come.